Landsberg Award for Journalists in Canada 2023 Application Update

Last Updated on January 7, 2023

The annual award celebrates a journalist who is raising awareness about gender equality and justice issues in Canada and seeks to inspire an increase in feminist media coverage and voices of women in Canada.

The award is named after Michele Landsberg—an award-winning Canadian journalist, author, social activist and feminist—to acknowledge the tremendous impact that she has had as an advocate and role model for all women in Canada. The award will inspire relentless and fearless journalists to consider Canadian news from a women’s equality perspective. The Landsberg Award is proudly presented by The Canadian Journalism Foundation in association with the Canadian Women’s Foundation.


  • The award recipient will receive a $5,000 prize from the Canadian Women’s Foundation.


  • Open to a working journalist (employed or freelance) who has done the most to shine a spotlight on women’s equality issues in Canada in print, broadcast or online news reporting in 2022.
  • Entries involving more than one contributor are welcome and will be judged as a single submission.
  • Submissions are welcome in the following formats: article, column, online piece, editorial, op-ed, radio program, podcast, television program or documentary film.

Judging Process

The judging panel is comprised of four to eight jurors who review all submitted entries through an online portal, rank the entries and then attend a face-to-face meeting or participate via conference call with their rankings to agree on the recipient–and finalists, if applicable–of the award.

How the jury will evaluate submissions:

  • The submitted work is clearly informed by a gender analysis and feminist framework (40%)
  • The submitted work has had a positive impact on issues facing women and girls in Canada. This might include raising public awareness, creating policy change, adding a fresh perspective to a well-known topic or bringing visibility to a previously unknown issue (30%)
  • The submitted work should have a long-term impact on raising awareness of issues facing women and girls in Canada (30%)


The application deadline is January 20, 2023. The shortlist will be announced in April, with the winner announced at the CJF Awards virtual ceremony in June 2023.

Click here to apply

For more information, visit Landsberg Award.

Deadline: January 20, 2023

Leave a Comment