WITS Courses and Requirements 2023 | University of the Witwatersrand

Filed in School News by on January 21, 2023 0 Comments

The general public and all those interested in studying at the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS) are hereby informed that the list of accredited courses offered at the institution has been released and listed below.

Wits University Courses

The University of the Witwatersrand (WITS) is a world-class higher learning institution better known for its unmatched record of academic excellence in South Africa and beyond. The university offers ambitious educational programmes under different faculties, attracting overwhelming numbers of both local and international students. What courses are offered at the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS)?

WITS Courses

Here’s a List of Courses Offered at the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS)

Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management

  • Bachelor of Commerce: BCom.
    • options include the double major flexible general BCom, or
    • fixed curriculum specialisations in Accounting, Law, Information Systems, and the PPE, or
    • popular fixed combinations are Economics and Finance or Management; Finance and Management or Insurance Risk Management; Human Resource Management and Management or Marketing; Management and Marketing or Insurance Risk Managment.
  • Bachelor of Accounting Science: BAccSc
  • Bachelor of Economic Science: BEconSc
  • Bachelor of Laws: LLB

Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

  • Bachelor of Science (Engineering) – BSc Eng
  • Bachelor of Engineering Science in Digital Arts – BEngSC (Digital Arts)
  • Bachelor of Engineering Science in Biomedical Engineering – BEngSC(BME)
  • Bachelor of Architectural Studies – BAS
  • Bachelor of Science in Urban and Regional Planning – BSc (URP)
  • Bachelor of Science in Construction Studies- BSc (CS)
  • Bachelor of Science in Property Studies – BSc (PS)

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Bachelor of Health Sciences – BHSc (Biomedical Sciences, Biokinetics or Health Systems Sciences)
  • Bachelor of Clinical Medical Practice – BCMP
  • Bachelor of Dental Science – BDS
  • Bachelor of Oral Health Sciences – BOHSc
  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery – MBBCh
  • Bachelor of Nursing – BNurs
  • Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy – BSc(OT)
  • Bachelor of Phar-macy – BPharm
  • Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy – BSc(Physiotherapy)

Faculty of Humanities

  • Bachelor of Arts – BA (3 years)
    • A BA programme is made up of two major subjects and 16 additional courses. A major is a subject that you take from first year through to third year. This means you study the same subject in first, second and third year.

Professional and Specialist Programmes (all 4 years)

  • Bachelor of Arts in Digital Arts – BA Digital Arts
  • Bachelor of Arts in Dramatic Art – BA (Dramatic Art)
  • Bachelor of Education – BEd
  • Bachelor of Arts in Film and Television – BAFT
  • Bachelor of Arts in Fine Arts – BA Fine Arts
  • Bachelor of Music – BMus
  • Bachelor of Arts in Performing and Visual Arts – BA Performing and Visual Art
  • Bachelor of Social Work – BA (Social Work)
  • Bachelor of Audiology
  • Bachelor of Speech-Language Pathology

READ: 11 Cheapest Universities in South Africa

Faculty of Science

Many fields of study are offered within the Bachelor of Science (BSc) Programme. The broad areas are:

Biological and Life Sciences

Biology covers all aspects of the study of living organisms, ranging from understanding the gene to managing ecosystems. This includes the molecular basis of life, including the biochemistry of molecules such as DNA, RNA and proteins; the physiological functions of cells, tissues, organs and organ systems; the influence of evolutionary relationships on a wide range of biological problems; and aquatic and terrestrial ecology.

Earth Sciences

The Earth Sciences study the processes that shape the earth, atmosphere and the organisms that have evolved on earth. Fields of specialisation include the exploration for and the mining of minerals, the prediction of weather and earthquakes, the evolution of species through time, the state of our natural environment and how we can best manage the system.

Mathematical Sciences

Wits has three large schools in the area of study known as the ‘Mathematical Sciences’ and these are the School of Mathematics, the School of Computer Science & Applied Mathematics and the School of Statistics and Actuarial Science.

READ ALSO: Top 10 Universities In South Africa With No Application Fees

Pure Mathematics is a developing science. Mathematical Statistics and Actuarial Science are important in business and governmental planning, insurance, finance, banking and investments.

Applied Mathematics has applications in banking, finance and industry. Computer Science offers an understanding of computer hardware and software, in all their applications.

Physical Sciences

From nuclear, particle, solid and liquid state physics, electricity, electronics, magnetism, optics, acoustics, heat and thermodynamics to the composition of matter (gas, liquid or solid) and of the changes that take place in it under certain conditions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *