2023 Whitley Awards for Grassroots Conservation Leaders in the Global South (up to £40,000)

Last Updated on August 25, 2022

Whitley Awards

The Whitley Awards fund grassroots conservation leaders in the Global South and put an international spotlight on winners’ work.

Winning a Whitley Award is not just about receiving financial support. Whitley Fund for Nature (WFN) also accelerates the careers of conservationists by welcoming them to the world stage. Increased visibility builds local pride for, and participation in, projects on-the-ground. It helps winners inspire more philanthropic support from new sources, and connect with other conservationists to share successes, failures and resources. In turn, with greater credibility, conservationists are in a better position to influence environmental policy on a regional, national and international scale.

Whitley Award winners are celebrated through a global PR campaign, tailor-made films narrated by Trustee, Sir David Attenborough, and endorsement from high profile supporters such as Ambassadors, Tom Heap and Kate Humble.


  • Whitley Awards are worth £40,000 GBP in project funding over one year.


  • Anyone can apply for a Whitley Award. You do not need to be invited or nominated.
  • Whitley Awards are for dynamic, mid-career conservationists who are leading wildlife conservation projects in the Global South.
  • Winners tend to be nationals of the country in which they are working who are seeking to scale up proven work that would benefit from further funding, a profile boost and international support.
  • To be eligible, projects must involve communities at the grassroots level and deliver practical action that is founded on science.
  • Applicants must be able to communicate in English.


Applications for the 2023 Whitley Awards will close at midnight GMT on October 31, 2022. The Whitley Awards Ceremony will take place in Spring 2023.

Click here to apply

For more information, visit Whitley Awards.

Deadline: October 31, 2022

Leave a Comment