UNESCO Prize 2023 for Girls and Women Education

Last Updated on March 9, 2023

UNESCO Prize 2023 for Girls’ and Women’s Education

Nominations are open for the UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education 2023. The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education honours outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions, and organizations to advance girls’ and women’s education.

It is the first UNESCO Prize of this nature and is unique in showcasing successful projects that improve and promote the educational prospects of girls and women and in turn, the quality of their lives.

Funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the Prize is conferred annually to two laureates and consists of an award of US $50,000 each to help further their work in the area of girls’ and women’s education. The Director-General of UNESCO awarded the Prize for the first time in 2016.


  • The Prize awards US$50,000 annually to two laureates making outstanding efforts in favour of girls’ and women’s education.



  • Governments of UNESCO Member States via their Permanent Delegations to UNESCO, and non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 3 nominations.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.


  • Individuals, institutions or organizations advancing girls’ and women’s education through an established and ongoing project or program which has been running for at least 2 years.


  • Nominations can be submitted via the dedicated online platform in English or French by a National Commission or Permanent Delegation to UNESCO of the concerned Member State, or by an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO. Nominations submitted by a Member State’s National Commission must be validated by the Permanent Delegation. Nominations from an NGO in official partnership with UNESCO must be validated by the organization’s headquarters. Nominations from country branches or affiliated offices will not be accepted.
  • National Commissions and Permanent Delegations to UNESCO may access the online submissions platform through their official UNESCO account using this link.
    NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO will be granted direct access to the online platform by the Secretariat upon request. To request access, please contact GWEPrize@unesco.org.
  • Member States and NGOs in official partnership may request that candidates complete the online nomination form directly.
    Access to the platform will be granted to candidates by the Prize Secretariat upon request from the nominating entity (National Commission, Permanent Delegation or NGO in official Partnership with UNESCO). Requests should be sent to GWEPrize@unesco.org by 15 May 2023. Once the online form is completed by the candidate, the nominating entity will be required to review and validate the submission.

Nominations must be submitted via the online platform by midnight of 19 May 2023 (UTC+1, Paris time). Kindly note that a nominating entity (Member State or NGO in official partnership with UNESCO) may not submit more than three nominations.

For more information, visit UNESCO Prize.

Deadline: May 19, 2023

Leave a Comment