APPLY NOW: UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023

Filed in Prizes & Awards by on 1 Comment

Last Updated on June 5, 2023

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. 506 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

Currently there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea, it gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): Established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China, it gives special consideration functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.


As in the previous editions, six awards will be granted to individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning. For this year, the programmes are requested to reflect around the theme “Promoting literacy for a world in transition: Building the foundation for peaceful and sustainable societies”.

The theme emphasizes how literacy plays a crucial role in empowering individuals and communities to adapt and establish peaceful and sustainable societies, especially during times of change and social, economic, and environmental challenges.


  • UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize: Each prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
  • UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy: Each prize winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.


  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning through projects and programmes.  
  • Applications should be submitted to the nominating entities either the National Commission for UNESCO in the programme’s country, or a NGO in official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to submit the nominated individuals, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO. 


  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities:  28 June 2023 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 12 July 2023 (midnight, Paris time).

Candidates can submit their applications through the online platform.

For more information, visit UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Deadline: July 12, 2023

Comments (1)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. Kevin O. Ayoo says:

    I need to work with you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *