Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Award 2022 (up to €10,000)

Last Updated on February 21, 2022

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

For three decades, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize (#NataliPrize) has honoured the courage of journalists whose stories shine a light on the common challenges facing our planet and its people.

Celebrating its 30th anniversary this year, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize returns to support international partnerships and inspire a new generation of reporters. It rewards excellent reporting on the topics of: 

  • inequality
  • poverty eradication
  • sustainable development
  • environment, biodiversity, climate action
  • digital
  • jobs and employment
  • education and skills development
  • migration
  • healthcare
  • peace, democracy and human rights


  • Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries. 
  • Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom). 
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union (not including the United Kingdom) or in one of its partner countries


  • The winner in each category will receive €10,000.
  • The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner. Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met.


  • Entries must have been published (an online version must be accessible) or broadcasted (radio or television with an online version accessible) between March 10, 2021 and March 9, 2022.
  • The Prize admits submissions in all languages accompanied by a translation in English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese when these are not the original languages of the reporting. The entries in languages other than English, French, Spanish, German or Portuguese will only be evaluated on the basis of the translated texts
  • The location of the media outlet where the reporting was published determines the geographic eligibility of your application. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not. See list of eligible countries.
  • Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work.
  • 2021 winners cannot compete again for the 2022 Prize but are eligible for subsequent editions.


The deadline for application is March 31, 2022. Late applications will not be considered.

Click here to apply

For more information, visit Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.

Deadline: March 31, 2022

Leave a Comment