James Dyson Award for Design Engineers 2023 Worldwide

Last Updated on March 29, 2023

James Dyson Award

Applications for the James Dyson Award 2023 are now open. James Dyson is on the hunt for bright minds with fresh ideas from around the globe. If you have an invention that solves a problem, they want to hear about it.

The James Dyson Award is an international design award that celebrates, encourages and inspires the next generation of design engineers. It’s open to current and recent design engineering students, and is run by the James Dyson Foundation, James Dyson’s charitable trust, as part of its mission to get young people excited about design engineering.

The James Dyson Award is your chance to make a name for yourself as an inventor. As well as winning a significant cash prize, you could generate media exposure to kick-start your career, earn the esteem of your peers – and perhaps gain the confidence to launch your own business.


  • National winner: £5,000
  • International runners up: £5,000
  • Sustainability winner: £30,000
  • International winner: £30,000


  • Open to current university students of engineering, product design and industrial design – and those who have graduated in these subjects in the last four years. They will ask to see official documentation that proves it.
  • If you don’t want to work alone, or if you studied something else but have a brilliant idea you want to share, you can still enter as part of a team. Your team leader must have studied one of the qualifying subjects, and all team members must be (or have been within the last four years) enrolled for at least one semester in an undergraduate or graduate programme.
  • They are also open to those completing degree-level apprenticeships, or those who have completed one in the past four years, in the field of engineering or design.
  • All entrants must have undertaken their studies in one of the following countries or regions: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.


To enter, you’ll first need to register and upload proof that you’re a student or recent graduate in one of the qualifying subjects. If you’re working as a team, all team members must register an account so the organisers can verify your eligibility. One of you will be responsible for submitting the entry.

Click here to register

For more information, visit James Dyson Award.

Deadline: July 19, 2023

Leave a Comment