International Centre For Theoritical Physics Prize For Young Researchers 2022

Last Updated on August 17, 2022

International Centre For Theoritical Physics Prize

The prize recognizes outstanding and original contributions to physics by young researchers from developing countries.

Past winners include Ashoke Sen (1989), the Indian theoretical physicist who was awarded the 2012 Fundamental Physics Prize, and former ICTP Director Fernando Quevedo (1998).

Founded in 1964 by the late Nobel Laureate Abdus Salam, ICTP seeks to accomplish its mandate by providing scientists from developing countries with the continuing education and skills that they need to enjoy long and productive careers. ICTP has been a major force in stemming the scientific brain drain from the developing world.


The prize includes:

  • A sculpture
  • A certificate, and
  • A cash prize.


  • Anybody can nominate a candidate for the ICTP Prize.
  • Candidates must have obtained their PhD less than 12 years earlier, specifically after December 31, 2010 for the 2022 prize (or after December 31, 2009 for women with one child; after December 31, 2008 for women with two children);
  • Self nominations are acceptable.


In order for a candidate to be considered, ICTP needs the following essential information:

  • Candidate’s up-to-date curriculum vitae, including birthplace and date, nationality, education, main positions held including present placement and duties, and major honours and awards.
  • Brief description of scientific achievements and proposed citation;
  • Two letters of recommendation.

It would greatly help the selection work, and make it more accurate, if you could provide ICTP with additional information on:

  • Names of additional potential referees or nominators
  • Current phone and email address
  • List of significant publications

Click here to submit nomination

For more information, visit ICTP Prize.

Deadline: September 30, 2022

Leave a Comment