British Council Go Digital Program Application Guide 2021 and Requirements

Last Updated on January 18, 2021

Applications are open for the British Council Go Digital Program 2021 for Organisations in Wales and Sub Saharan Africa. Go Digital: Sub Saharan Africa/Wales aims to address the challenges faced by artists and organisations at the moment by supporting new virtual ways of working internationally, in turn creating a climate-friendly approach to international collaboration and artistic exchange.

They hope that the program will develop new and existing networks, strengthen the economic and social development of SSA and Wales within the international cultural sector and enable strategic digital showcasing skills to be shared between SSA and Wales heightening the international reach and impact of both regions.


They are offering three grants of between £5,000 and £8,000 to organisations in Wales and Sub Saharan Africa (SSA) to collaborate digitally on international projects.

Direct project costs include:

  • Staff time to deliver the project
  • Training costs
  • Professional fees
  • Translation and interpreter fees
  • Equipment and materials
  • Activities relating to learning, advocacy and community engagement
  • Evaluation
  • Promotion


  • Open to organisations in Wales, in partnership with an organisation from Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • If you have already received funding from the British Council for the proposed activity you are not eligible to apply for additional funding. If, however, you have received funding from the British Council for research or scoping activity to develop your proposal then you are able to apply for a collaboration grant in order to take the project forward.

Eligible Countries

Wales in partnership with at least one country from the following list of Official Development Assistance (ODA) countries: Botswana, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Assessment Criteria

Applications will be judged across the following areas (these areas will be clearly marked in the application form):

  • Activity and innovation: 40%
    • Evidence of developed discussions and activity outline
    • Evidence of innovation through digital exchange
  • Partnership and positive contribution: 40%
    • Evidence of a sound partnership
    • Evidence of equal partner roles and responsibilities
    • Demonstrate that they are making a positive contribution to the social and economic development to the Official Development Assistance (ODA) country involved in the application
    • Usefulness of the grant to further development of the activity
  • Budget and timeline: 10%
    • Clear and realistic budget
    • Realistic timeline for activity
  • Diversity: 10%
    • Evidence of a commitment to equality, diversity and inclusion


Expect to be asked to provide the following:

  • A project summary
  • Backgrounds on all partners
  • A breakdown of partners roles and responsibilities during the project
  • A budget
  • How your project will make a positive contribution to the social and economic development of your partner countries and improve the welfare of the population (Official Development Assistance compliant) 
  • What challenges you foresee and how you plan to overcome them
  • Equality Diversity and Inclusion policies in place 

Applications are now open and will close on February 7, 2021 at 23.59 (UK).

Click Here To Apply

For more information, visit British Council.

Leave a Comment