16 Regions in Ghana and Their Capitals and Ministers

Filed in Articles by on May 3, 2023 0 Comments
16 Regions in Ghana and Their Capitals and Ministers

Regions in Ghana: The regions of Ghana constitute the first level of sub-national government administration within the Republic of Ghana. There are currently sixteen regions, further divided for administrative purposes into 216 local districts.

The former ten regional boundaries were officially established in 1987 when the Upper West Region was inaugurated as the state’s newest administrative region. Although the official inauguration was in 1987, the Upper West Region had already functioned as an administrative unit since the break-up of the Upper Region in December 1982, prior to the 1984 national census. The referendum on the creation of six new regions was held on December 27, 2018 – all proposed new regions were approved.

16 Regions in Ghana and Their Capitals and Ministers

Here are the 16 Regions in Ghana and Their Capitals and Ministers;

Upper WestWaDr Hafiz Bin Salih
Upper EastBolgatangaStephen Yakubu
North EastNaleriguYidana Zakaria
SavannahDamangoSaeed Muhazu Jibril
NorthernTamaleShani Alhassan Saibu
BonoSunyaniJustina Owusu – Banahene
Bono EastTechimanKwasi Adu-Gyan
OtiDambaJoseph Makubu
AhafoAhafo-GoasoGeorge Yaw Boakye
AshantiKumasiSimon Osei-Mensah
Western NorthSefwi WiawsoRichard Obeng
EasternKoforiduaSeth Kwame Acheampong
VoltaHoArchibald Letsa
WesternSecondi TakoradiKwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah
CentralCape CoastJustina Marigold Assan
Greater AccraAccraHenry Quartey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *